Well – it’s actually been a few days. Somebody has decided to put my “flexibility skills” to the test.

It started with my Dell Inspiron 8500 and a problem with the video card. At first, the display started to look funny. I thought it might be a virus – or a corrupted video driver.

Whether you know this by now or not. I have a full time job – normally 45 to 50+ hours a week. I’m a husband and father of 4 (with number 5 due in March/April 2009). I started this blog back in June, when my 10 year old son decided he wanted to take the Thirty Day Challenge with me this year. And, there’s always something to do around the house – my honey-do list just never quits.

Needless to say, I’m a busy guy. Oh – and I almost forgot that just a few days ago, I committed to an Immediate Edge project too. So, yeah – I have a lot of plates spinning. Normally, that’s okay – until my laptop decides to melt-down on me…

So, I finally tracked the problem down to the video card – it turns out they’re not exactly cheap – and because this computer is almost 5 years old – it might take several days to get one.

The problem? – I don’t have that kind of time. I just don’t – so, I’ve hi-jacked an HP pavilion laptop that the kids use sometimes. I had to take the hard-drive out of my Dell and put it in the HP. There are a few driver problems – for example, the audio still doesn’t work. But, I’m back up and running – I’ll watch 30DC training videos on our home desktop computer until I can track down the proper audio drivers for this laptop.

The moral of the story? – Never Give Up, Never Give Up – Never Give Up!

I felt like giving up last night – really, my other laptop looked like it was spitting out code from the Matrix. It was absolute gibberish and completely unusable. That laptop has everything on it – everything from work – all my internet marketing stuff – everything. Even with decent back-ups – it would be a complete pain in the neck to start over with new computer from scratch.

So – swapping the hard drive into this other laptop is a good short-term solution. It’s a setback – but you know what they say about setbacks?

Setbacks pave the way for comebacks. So be on the lookout…

P.S. to the SonicXtreme Team – sorry I missed our Skype call today and went MIA. I’ll try to contact you all over the next few days – now that I’m back up and running.

P.S.S. – @Ed Dale, if you’re reading this… I know, I know – I should pony up and get a Mac Book Pro – it really is next on my list of major purchases, really. I just have to get by with what I have for right now…

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

