ubiquity n : the state of being everywhere at once (or seeming to be everywhere at once)

I just happened to see a tweet from Ed Dale in his Friendfeed display on the Thirty Day Challenge training page a little while ago.  Since I was just starting my lunch, I did what he said to do:

“do a search on Ubiquity by Mozilla – very very very cool”

And Ed is right – it’s super-cool.  (Thank you for finding cool stuff to tweet about Ed)

From their site:

“The overall goals of Ubiquity are to explore how best to:

  • Empower users to control the web browser with language-based instructions. (With search, users type what they want to find. With Ubiquity, they type what they want to do.)
  • Enable on-demand, user-generated mashups with existing open Web APIs. (In other words, allowing everyone–not just Web developers–to remix the Web so it fits their needs, no matter what page they are on, or what they are doing.)
  • Use Trust networks and social constructs to balance security with ease of extensibility.
  • Extend the browser functionality easily.

………………….

The Ubiquity Add-on allows you map and insert maps anywhere; translate on-page; search amazon, google, wikipedia, yahoo, youtube, etc.; digg and twitter; lookup and insert yelp review; get the weather; syntax highlight any code you find; e-mail from your g-mail account, and a lot more.”

When you have a chance, you can learn more about it by clicking here

And you can get it by clicking here and scrolling down the page a bit.

(By the way, I just had to use Ubiquity to “define scrolling” just to make sure I was spelling it right – oh, and I used it to “define ubiquity” above too.  In both cases, I was able to avoid interrupting my workflow – and I think that is the point.)

One more thing – I started using Flock 2.0 beta today – so far, so good.  Ubiquity is working flawlessly.

Feel free to add your comments and/or share some “social love.”

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

