Just a quick post today – I’m making a public resolution today. I don’t care if we’re halfway through the year. I’m just tired of banging my head against a wall…it boils down to constraints.

There are things everyday that get in the way. I start out with a to-do list and most days end up distracted, putting out “fires” pulled in a lot of different directions and when the day is done – maybe I checked a few things off my list…maybe not.

So – I’ve taken a step back and looked at the things that get in my way – the things that slow me down. It’s time for me to start eliminating constraints.

The first one on my list?

Let me give you a little background info. Last fall, I was fortunate enough to be able to switch from a PC to a MAC. And I love it.

For work – I still need to do a bunch of PC based stuff – so I use a program called “Parallels” and cloned my old PC hard drive for use on my MAC. No biggie, right?

Well, not exactly – there’s something wrong with that old PC – it hogs the processor (about 50%) on the MAC as soon as it starts up – so when it’s running (all day) the MAC is kind of slow.

So – I created a second virtual PC in Parallels to see how it would work. And it only takes 5% to 10% of the processor – way better. I’ve gradually pulled my documents and data over to the new virtual PC, everything but my e-mail.

I’ve been using Microsoft Outlook since 2000 – and I have e-mail archives going back that far. I know it’s crazy – tens of thousands of e-mails and house plans and pictures…Anyhow – it’s time for me to port that stuff over to the new PC and put the old one out of its misery (read, my misery). So that’s my task.

I will have it done by this weekend or else…I won’t – but seriously – It’s a bottleneck in my work flow that I need to get rid of once and for all…and now that I’ve made it public knowledge, I will.

As the 2009 thirty day challenge is about to get underway – What’s your biggest constraint? And what are you going to do about it? Please feel free to leave your comments below…

